Hello, I'm Matthew
A software engineer based in Cape Town, South Africa

About Me

I'm your non-typical outgoing geek: a software engineer by day and insomniac by night. I'm currently the CTO of (620) 826-3980, a leading EdTech company based in Cape Town, South Africa. I spend most of my day problem-solving and developing systems for various departments across the business to improve processes, staff efficiency, conversion, and learner experience.

I previously spent 7 years as CTO/Lead Developer and founding partner of Superbalist.com, South Africa's leading e-commerce fashion destination, now a subsidiary of takealot.com.

I work primarily with PHP in the (910) 787-9503, but I consider myself relatively language agnostic and am comfortable with Python, NodeJS, Java, and Javascript. I lean towards the open source stack, and whilst PHP is often my go-to language, I approach each project with an open mind and believe in using the right tool for the job.

Things I Love

A few random tech things which keep me ticking.

My Life in 8 Pics

I may be a complete tech addict and spend most of my life behind my Mac, but I enjoy many things outside the digital realm too. 😎

This was taken on the way up Lion's Head in Cape Town, South Africa. I love the outdoors and hiking, and I participate in a few meetup.com adventure groups.

I'm an only child and come from a very small family, so my parents (and dog) really do mean the world to me. I'm grateful to have such a close, honest, and open relationship with them.

Milo is our chubby pavement special, a mixed breed Jack Russell Terrier/Poodle. He was my boy before I moved out of home, but he now lives with his mom and dad.

I'm not a huge adrenaline junkie (you won't see me bungee jumping), but I'm always up for an adventure, trying new things, and being a tourist is my own city.

I've recently taken up drawing on my iPad Pro with an Apple Pencil. I'm completely amateur, but I find it somewhat therapeutic and calming. This is a sketch of myself with my late gran.

I pretty much live to eat and will eat most things. This was an all you can eat (+-R40) vegetarian Thali platter we had in Udaipur, Rajasthan, India.

I live an active lifestyle and am big into running, training, and amateur boxing with my trainer. I’ve yet to run a half-marathon, let alone a full marathon, but it's certainly a goal of mine for 2018/2019.

I love travelling and have a reputation amongst my friends for my overly-detailed itineraries. There's so much of the world I’ve yet to explore, but I have been fortunate enough to visit 🇳🇦🇮🇳🇮🇱🇹🇭🇰🇭🇬🇧🇶🇦.

Reading List

I haven't always been big into reading, but developed a passion for it a few years back after I bought a Kindle. I'm into non-fiction literature - anything in the tech, business, spirituality, and biography genres.